CSU is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, a regional accreditation agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education. This independent corporation was founded in 1895 and is recognized by the US Department of Education and the Council on Higher Education Accreditation. For further information, please contact

Higher Learning Commission (HLC) accreditation assures the public, students, faculty, and staff that our University meets stated HLC criteria. Accreditation signifies the certification of acceptable institutional quality and integrity, and it acknowledges that the institution has undergone rigorous internal and external evaluation. Accreditation is the official standing and affirmation that a university provides the quality of higher education that the general public has the right to expect and that is recognized by the educational community.

On January 30, 2023, CSU submitted its Assurance Argument and Federal Compliance document to the HLC as required in anticipation of the HLC's February 27-28, 2023 campus visit. The Assurance Argument is available here.


Accrediting organizations set the academic standards by which their member institutions must comply. This quality assurance process is performed by private membership associations to assure a school meets high standards with respect to:

  • faculty qualifications
  • academic rigor
  • student learning outcomes


Public Comment

The public is invited to submit comments on HLC’s website or to the following address:

Public Comment on Chicago State University

Higher Learning Commission

230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500

Chicago, IL 60604-1411

Comments must address substantive matters related to the quality of the institution or its academic programs. Comments must be in writing. We appreciate your response!

Accredited Programs

There is a difference between institutional and program accreditation. Institutional accreditation looks at an entire institution without making judgments about specific programs. Program accreditation is carried out by specific accrediting bodies examining curricula and course content to evaluate programs meeting specific criteria.

Colleges of:

Accredited Program Accrediting Agency Last Visit Visit Frequency Next Visit
Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Counselor Training (Minor) IAODAPCA 2011 Periodic Periodic
Art and Design (BA) NASAD 2022 10 years 2023-2033
Chemistry (BS) ACS 2012

Annual Report Aug 2021


Community Counseling (MA) CACREP 2020 8 years 2026
Library and Information Science (MS in LIS) ALA  Spring 2019  7 years 2027
Music (BA and BME) NASM  2018  10 years 2027/2028
School Counseling (MA) CACREP 2020 8 years 2026
Social Work (Masters) CSWE 2016 8 years Fall 2024
(Board Review Febraury 2025)
Accredited Program Accrediting Agency Last Visit Visit Frequency Next Visit
Accounting (BS) ACBSP 2017 10 years 2027
Finance (BS) ACBSP 2017 10 years 2027
Management (BS) ACBSP 2017 10 years 2027
Marketing (BS) ACBSP 2017 10 years 2027
Management Information Systems (BS) ACBSP 2017 10 years 2027
Accredited Program Accrediting Agency Last Visit Visit Frequency Next Visit
Health Information Administration CAHIM Aug 3-4, 2021 Annual Program Assessment Report Required 2029-2030


2023 Periodic Spring 2025
Occupational Therapy ACOTE Fall 2015 Based on performance: 5, 7 or 10 years 2025/2026
Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm D.) ACPE 2023 Periodic 2025-2026 Follow up report due 10/1/24

Contact Us

Person Email Phone/Fax Location

Gabrielle Toth, MA, MSLIS

University Accreditation Steering Committee Co-Chair

(773) 995-2562

GBL 203

Concetta Williams, EdD

University Accreditation Steering

Committee Co-Chair 

(773) 995-2189

SCI 320

Jeremy Hughes, PharmD, EdD

Associate Provost for Academic
(773) 995-3586  

ADM 306C